586,075 active members*
3,966 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1041

    Tool changer question

    Tom
    I have been using the linear4toolholders
    C program adjusted for more tools to match my setups on 3 machines. Everything works great but I would like to prevent it from dropping off and picking back up a tool that is already in the spindle. Could you help me prevent a tool change when the currently loaded tool is called when the program is run over. I'm not sure what code to use or where to locate it in the toolchange program.

    Thank you
    Ben

    Sent from my E6910 using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4045

    Re: Tool changer question

    Hi Ben,

    It should be just a comparison between the requested tool and current tool. If they're equal do nothing and return.

    Please post the tool change program you are using.
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1041

    Re: Tool changer question

    Tom
    Thank you for getting back with me. I am attaching the c program here as a .txt file.
    I have looked it over and have been trying to figure it out with no luck so far. If we can get it working it would be a big time saver

    Thank you
    BenAttachment 491838

    Sent from my E6910 using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    474
    Quote Originally Posted by bhurts View Post
    Tom
    Thank you for getting back with me. I am attaching the c program here as a .txt file.
    I have looked it over and have been trying to figure it out with no luck so far. If we can get it working it would be a big time saver

    Thank you
    BenAttachment 491838

    Sent from my E6910 using Tapatalk
    A lot of high end, expensive machines will always return a tool to the magazine on power up to protect the spindle from collision or overspeed with an unbalanced tool running too fast. It also helps to check the tool in spindle register. If left even overnight, a wet or hot tool can almost seize into the spindle taper and jam up the toolchange.

    If your same tool is changed at the beginning of a program, why not simply put the last tool away before end of program or power off. Recommended to prevent tool ringing tight into the spindle taper.

    ie. Always start the machine or a program with an empty spindle.

    T0 M6 (or macro)
    M30 (or M02)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1041

    Re: Tool changer question

    I appreciate the advice Servtech and may consider emptying the spindle before shutdown. I still need the machine not to make unnecessary tool changes. I have been a machinist for around 25 years now and none of the machines I have used will return a tool that is already in the spindle only to pick it right back up before continuing. It is just unnecessary and confusing at times.

    Thank you
    Ben

    Sent from my E6910 using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4045

    Re: Tool changer question

    Hi Ben,

    Try adding this just before it unloads the previous tool (Line 107)

    Code:
    	if (ToolSlot == CurrentTool) return 0;  // desired tool already loaded?
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1041

    Re: Tool changer question

    Tom

    Thank you so much! That seems to be working perfectly. If you think it's worth it you may want add that line to the example toolchange program. This will be added to all my other machines tonight. I don't anticipate any issues but if I run into any I will be sure to report it to you.

    Thank you
    Ben

    Sent from my E6910 using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. HELP!! Question concerning Haas umbrella Tool Changer Sensor.
    By kentdesautel13 in forum Haas Machines
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-18-2020, 08:27 PM
  2. MD1 and MD3 tool changer question
    By Scrambled1 in forum HURCO
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-07-2014, 10:52 PM
  3. Question - Dealing with VMC1000/22 DX32 Tool Changer
    By shaffin in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-28-2013, 03:41 AM
  4. tool changer return question
    By Delw in forum Fadal
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-02-2008, 06:54 AM
  5. Tool changer question
    By StormWerkz in forum Fadal
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-31-2007, 10:34 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •