586,051 active members*
3,848 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Boxford Duet Mach 3 conversion

I have acquired and Boxford Duet Mill unsure if is a mark I or II, see pictures. The original software is Dos based really want to move onto XP or Windows 7, i am hopeing to convert to Mach3 control. Any suggestions welcome, has any member done this? I have no problem with wiring or PC operation, being a electronic/electrical engineer, I am looking for advise on the best solution and control cards to:
    1. PC interface Card
    2. XYZ stepper motor controller card (Hopefully can use the original stepper motors)
    3. I need to control the Lathe motor speed from Mach3
    4. Limit stops

I have from a previous project, would any of the below be suitable?

DollaTek 5 axis CNC Breakout Board with optical coupler For Stepper Motor Driver MACH3
    Mach3 Motion Card, CNC USB Card Distribution Board CNC USB Motion Control Card Mach3 4 Axis 100KHz for CNC Engravingraspberry pi CNC Controller
    Padarsey DC 24V 15A 360W Power Supply.
    3 x Dealikee TB6600 4A 9-42V Stepper Motor Driver CNC Controller Nema 17/23 Stepper Motor Single Axes Two Phase Hybrid Stepper Moto
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_0128.jpg   IMG_0121.jpg   IMG_0118.jpg  

Re: Boxford Duet Mach 3 conversion

Quote Originally Posted by wayne328i View Post
    I have acquired and Boxford Duet Mill unsure if is a mark I or II, see pictures. The original software is Dos based really want to move onto XP or Windows 7, i am hopeing to convert to Mach3 control. Any suggestions welcome, has any member done this? I have no problem with wiring or PC operation, being a electronic/electrical engineer, I am looking for advise on the best solution and control cards to:
    1. PC interface Card
    2. XYZ stepper motor controller card (Hopefully can use the original stepper motors)
    3. I need to control the Lathe motor speed from Mach3
    4. Limit stops