586,094 active members*
4,021 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > CNC Machine Related Electronics > Breaker sizing for CNC cabinet (AC servos and VFD)
Page 1 of 2 12

Breaker sizing for CNC cabinet (AC servos and VFD)

So I am trying to figure out what size breaker will be needed to feed to the CNC cabinet I'm putting together for a knee mill I am setting up. I am a complete novice when it comes to electronics, so feel free to tell me when/where I'm off track.

Right now I have the 3HP, 220v, 8.6a induction spindle motor, which I plan to power with a DURApulse GS21-23P0 or a delta MS300 (VFD11AMS21ANSAA), which I think might be an identical drive with with different branding. Reading through the manual it appears they recommend either 50a fuse or a 70a breaker. For the breaker the delta manual says the breaker should be 1.6-2.6 the rated input current of the drive (which is 27.5a). I'm thinking of using this, would that be sufficient at 2.3x the rated current?

https://www.automationdirect.com/adc...ors/gmcb-2d-63

For the servos I purchased 3 of the stepperonline T6 750w servos and drives. Rated current is 4.1a peak is 13.4, looking through the manual I am not seeing a recommended breaker size. Should I just select something around the peak current? 15a and 13a seem to be common sizes available for DIN mount breakers. Something like this maybe?

https://www.automationdirect.com/adc...ors/gmcb-2d-15

The breakers are available in B, C, and D curves. Is there a particular curve I should select for the VFD and servos?

Finally If I have a 63a breaker and three 15a breakers, totaled up thats a pretty high mains amperage requirement. Similar builds on CNCzone using DMM or other brands are only feeding their cabinets with 40a circuits. What size mains power circuit would you recommend for this kind of build?

Re: Breaker sizing for CNC cabinet (AC servos and VFD)