586,080 active members*
3,625 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

ball screw help/suggestions

hello all, thanks for having me in the forum..
    I am totally new to this hobby and I want to build a router for me and my sons so I can teach them my trade, and we can have something to do together. I am totally in the dark when it comes to what size, pitch or type of ballscrews to buy so Im hoping someone here will offer some guidance and help me get things sorted out. I want to build a 4' x 4' router. I know that I want to be able to machine at upwards of 450ipm. I was thinking either 20mm or 25mm ballscrews but I dont know what pitch I would need or how to calculate things to make sure Im on the right track or not with my selection. Any help would be appreciated
    Thx
    Ben

Re: ball screw help/suggestions

I'd go with the 20 mm screws. The length isn't enough to get much "whipping" going, which is the only reason to use fatter ones. The extra mass of the wider screws can work against you when you're trying to change directions, since they get a lot of momentum going. Figuring out the pitch is dependent on the motors you're using. Servos go pretty fast without losing torque, so you could use relatively fine-pitch screws and still hit your target speed with them. But steppers lose torque as they go faster, so if that's the type of motors you're using, coarser-pitched screws would be advisable. The other thing to consider with ball screws is precision. All ball screws are not created equal, and some are just good for opening garage doors, etc. Look at the specifications, and just choose the ones that can hit the tolerances you're looking for, over the length of your typical parts. A ball screw's "thread drunkenness" is specified as +/- x units per unit of length, so be sure to do the math.
    Andrew Werby
    Website