586,100 active members*
2,684 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Sub-Spindle

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18

    Sub-Spindle

    Hi there,

    I want to call a G-code program from a Mazatrol program and do some machining on the sub-spindle. The scheme looks like that:

    1) Machining on the main spindle
    2) Transfer workpiece
    3) Machining on the sub spindle
    4) Call G-code program and machining on the sub spindle

    The problem I have is that the G-code program (step 4) always refers to the main spindle (i.e. it wants to do the machining on the main spindle and not the sub spindle) but the sub spindle is properly setup (step 3 proves that). How can I make it to work on the sub spindle?

    Well I guess I have to do a zero-shift but how can I access the Z-OFFSET in the Setup-Page for the sub-spindle?

    The control is a 640T.

    Regards
    Frank

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    265
    cant it be done with a mirror image on Z-axis?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18
    Hmm I don't know! What would be the G-code for this?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    10
    what did you do on step 3?
    secondary/sub spindle have different M code with main spindle.
    did you try to put M300 (secondary spindle selection) on the top of second spindle program?
    another M code for secondary spindle :
    M303 normal rotation
    M304 reverse rotation
    etc
    please refer to M code list on operating manual book

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18
    Well I can make the sub spindle turn and I think I put M300 at the beginning of the program but lets say if I put in G00 Z0 it moves toward the main spindle and not toward the sub spindle so it looks like to me that there is an issue with the zero point.

    In the Setup-Page there's a Z-Offset data item for each transfer that tells the control to shift the zero point so machining can be done on the subspindle after the transfer is completed. It looks like to me this offset is not considerated when I call the ISO sub program.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    188

    sub spindle

    Just wondering can you use your g54 through g59 work offsets to set a new zero point at the face of your part in the sub spindle then program Z in the + direction.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18
    Sure I can setup and use one of those zero points but I find it awkward to do and I thought the Mazatrol coordinatesystem takes care of it automatically...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    71
    What about tool control? I am not a Mazak guy, but do you need to specify anything differently for the tool offset?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11
    On the 640MT Pro Integrex, this is controlled by a parameter. One way all EIA subs refer to the main spindle WPC... the other way it uses whatever WPC is correct for the active spindle.

    There also may be a parameter to use independent WPCs... using the setup page for the EIA sub to set it and activating the "Mazatrol" WPC with a G53.5P2 in the sub program... obviously not best way, but it might be an option.

    Also... settting the WPC manually should not be difficult. Take the absolute value of the transfer point and add the Z offset for the main spindle. This is the point of the rightmost face of the part on the subspindle. We have to set the Z2 offset manually when we run straight EIA and setting Z offsets and transfer points has never been a problem.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Lathejockeu81 View Post
    On the 640MT Pro Integrex, this is controlled by a parameter. One way all EIA subs refer to the main spindle WPC... the other way it uses whatever WPC is correct for the active spindle.
    Thanks for your reply. I looked for that paramter you describe here but couldn't find it. Any chance you can figure out what it was?

    Regards
    Frank

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    217
    Well on our Integrex with the 640Mt PRO control there is not a parameter for using the sub spindle. You just call up the W axis and that will move it to the correct position if you are wanting to use it to pick parts from the main spindle.

    Here is a sample code set for swapping parts from one spindle to the next I got from a friend:
    M307
    M202M302G10.9X1
    G20G80G40G17G90G94G98
    G91G53G0X0.
    G91G28X0.
    T2.1M6
    G91G53G0X0.
    G91G28X0.
    M107
    G91G28Y0.
    G91G28Z0.
    G91G28W0.
    (HEAD I JAW WASH)
    G97M203S100R1
    G90G53Z6.0B0.
    M107
    G53X-41.22
    G94G4X5.M51M8
    M205M9
    (HEAD II JAW WASH)
    G91G28X0
    G90G53Z14.5B180.
    M107
    G97M303S100R2
    G53X-41.22
    G94G4X5.M51M8
    M305M9
    G91G28X0.
    G91G28Y0.
    G91G28Z0.B0.
    M107
    M0
    #600=-48.353
    G17G40G80G90G94G98
    G94M540M306(M540 TRANSFER MODE ON)
    G4X2.
    M200M300
    G0C0.U0.
    M210M310
    M508
    G90(TRANSFER PUSH)
    G0W[#600+.7]
    G1W[#600+.6]F3.9
    G91G1G31W-.678F3.9
    #601=#5026
    #5243=[#5223+ABS[#600]Z(WRITE TO G55 Z WORK OFFSET)
    IF=[#601GT#600]GOTO5000
    G55
    G4X2.
    M307
    G4X15.
    M206
    G4X15.
    G91G30W0
    M541(M541 TRANSFER MODE OFF)
    M212M312
    M99
    N5000
    #3000<50(HEAD_II_XFER_MISPOSITION)

    I hope that gives you some ideas and help

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11
    I was not referring to part transfer. I was referring to the use of an EIA sub to do work on the sub spindle AFTER a transfer was performed in Mazatrol. Unfortunately I'm at home so I don't have the parameter list handy... but it's definately there.

    However I must say that I've not seen a transfer routine with dynamic Z2 offset correction and error checking before. Very nice.

    I also noticed that your transfer feedrate is 3.9ipm. Were you experiencing false reads in your transfers at higher feedrates? I would like to know because our incredibly effective Mazak service center doesn't know how to decrease the sensitivity during W axis skip feeding... Perhaps we are not the only ones with this problem?

Similar Threads

  1. Sweo spindle drive? new mill dead spindle
    By Shizzlemah in forum Fadal
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-18-2008, 06:11 PM
  2. interact 4 spindle drive won't turn on spindle
    By 0041601 in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-23-2008, 11:51 PM
  3. Lathe spindle bearings and spindle material
    By mackeym in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 08-21-2007, 08:49 PM
  4. Lathe spindle bearings and spindle material
    By mackeym in forum Linear and Rotary Motion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-11-2007, 04:53 PM
  5. Replies: 30
    Last Post: 06-17-2006, 04:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •