586,103 active members*
2,717 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

linear rail & rack & pinion installation

hello
    i am a newbie to cnc design and wanna know your opinion about the cnc router design in the pictures attached bellow
    iam using hrg20 linear rail and 1.25 module rack ,nema 23 425oz stepper motors in all axis
    the frame build from 80mmx3mm square tube
    and thanks in advance
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails pic01.jpg   pic02.jpg   pic03.jpg   pic04.jpg  

pic01.jpg   pic02.jpg   pic03.jpg   pic04.jpg  

pic_01.jpg   pic_02.jpg   pic_03.jpg   pic_04.jpg  

Re: linear rail & rack & pinion installation

Hi Ben - Sorry - no pictures attached try again via the go advanced at the bottom of the panel. Peter

Quote Originally Posted by peteeng View Post
    Hi Ben - Sorry - no pictures attached try again via the go advanced at the bottom of the panel. Peter
    The images are now visible.
    Community Manager <a href="https://de.industryarena.com/" target="_blank">https://de.industryarena.com/</a>

Hi Ben- In principle the concept is good. 3mm is a bit thin at the bearings and track so a doubler or different tube is the go there. Are the tubes aluminium or steel? Peter

hi peteeng and thanks for your reply
    the tube is steel 80mm*3mm

or maybe this design is better?
    need your advise

Hi Ben - I would not use the construction extrusion. Too costly and not very stiff. Your original design is simpler and just needs local tuning. The less parts and simpler the design the better. KISS Peter

Hi Ben - I would not use the construction extrusion. Too costly and not very stiff. Your original design is simpler and just needs local tuning. The less parts and simpler the design the better. KISS Peter
    whats you mean by local tuning?

Hi Ben - 3mm is a bit thin at connections so use a 3mm plate as a doubler to make it thicker. Since the original design was steel use 3mm steel to get 6mm total at areas needed. Peter

Hi,