586,080 active members*
3,743 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > CNC "do-it-yourself" > Granite Base Moving Gantry - Looking For Feedback
Page 1 of 12 12311

Granite Base Moving Gantry - Looking For Feedback

Hi all,
    Would love some feedback and apologies up front for being wordy. Will intro the idea and then ask specific questions in the posts to come - but feel more than free to comment on anything

Intro
    I've been looking to build a small mill/router for years but stuff got in the way. But now, it will be happening.
    I am not an engineer nor machinist but I tend to research a fair bit - that said, I am not the best with deep dives into math so I do end up relying on anectodal "evidence" quite often.

As such, my design so far is a result of what I have picked up here and there and I am looking for feedback on it.

Goal
    Goal is to machine aluminium and hold decent tolerances, perhaps +/- 0.025mm. There's a dream to cut titanium one day, but I know it may not be able to (stiffness, lack of flood coolant and wrong spindle) so we can put a pin in it for now, but if it could - even slowly, that would be a bonus.
    I have a small product I want to prototype on this machine and make smaller batches of. Speed is not super important as if this takes off, I would outsource the machining anyways.

Budget
    Budget is a semi-tight which might confuse you given some of the specs below like the C3 ballscrews but I can source quite a lot of this used and even a few things at very good deals. But think "budget, best bang for buck, but not opposed to spend a bit on good parts".

Granite, really?

I am chosing to have a base and gantry made from solid granite. I used to be based in China, have friends there and can get it to the Philippines where I live now with cheap freight despite it being heavy.