586,096 active members*
3,709 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

I need help choosing the first machine

Hello
    So I want to start with small volume manufacturing (custom car parts, drone frames, tactical accessories etc), and I'm looking for the optimal CNC to get started. I'm not looking for any big brands as they always cost more than people usually can afford on entry. I sometimes see how people make $500k a year on a CNC but they always mention they borrowed money to buy a $5k CNC to get started. I won't be doing that.
    I'm a DIY guy and I love learning stuff, so upgradeability would be a big plus when choosing. I work as a 3d artist so I won't be relaying on this CNC for my income any time soon, but I want to be able to upgrade it and eventually turn it into a business.
    I'm looking for a CNC that can machine aluminum with the best precision. My budget is currently under $2k but this tells you nothing since you don't know the buying options in my region.

I'll post few examples in the following posts, please give me your opinion which one would be better.
    You can ask any questions regarding them and I'll find the specs (or ask their manufacturer).

Variant 1 (4060, Z range 100mm)
    Spindle Kraissmann 910W
    Rails: SBR20
    Motors: NEMA 23
    Y-axis - single central motor

Variant 2 (4060, Z range 170mm)
    Spindle: 800W
    Rails: SBR20
    Motors: NEMA23
    Y-axis - 2 motors, next to each rail.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 4497692582_w600_h600_4497692582.jpg   4262812715_w600_h600_4262812715.jpg   4256100198_w600_h600_4256100198.jpg  

Re: I need help chosing the first machine

It seems to me it's a good idea to have 2 Y-axis motors so it moves evenly when the spindle is in the end positions on the X-axis.
    However I'm not sure about the locations of those Y motors, is it good/bad they're this high, or I'm overthinking it and it doesn't matter?