586,100 active members*
2,722 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

My Take on a DIY Vertical Mill

Hi there,

I'm fairly new to the CNC world and currently in the process of constructing my own CNC Mill. I'm using a Box steel frame filled with epoxy granite or concrete; I haven't decided yet. Right now, my main focus is on designing the frame, specifically the X-axis. I'm drawing inspiration from the Grizzly G0759, but I'm building the frame from scratch and opting for linear rails instead of dovetails.

As I explore various DIY CNC mills online, I've noticed a common approach where the rails are fixed and not moving in the X-direction, but only the bearing blocks move. Similar to what Seabass Engineering does in his build: link. I hope it is clear what I'm trying to say; English is not my first language.

I'm grappling with the decision on the best design option. Initially, it seems that the first approach might offer more rigidity. The spindle always stays in the middle of the bearing blocks, ensuring maximum rigidity, and it could potentially allow for longer travel with the same length of rails since the bearing blocks don't need to be as far apart.

However, I can't help but wonder why this design choice isn't more widespread. Am I missing something crucial here? I'd greatly appreciate any advice or insights you might have on this matter.

Thanks.

Re: My Take on a DIY Vertical Mill

I have just posted a practical working design for a VMC using standard compononents and linear rails on Grabcad. It was modelled in Solidworks but I also included step files that shoud work on any cad program. I am planning to build this myself. The frame is fabricated from mostly 10mm plate. It is free to download from Grabcad. Dave

Hi Sid - No link, a diagram or screen shot of the design would be good. Peter

Sorry, I must have forgotten to paste the link: https://youtu.be/LAUtoVJ5m4k?t=556

That's how it's looking so far. Picture attached.