586,080 active members*
3,485 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Tools / Tooling Technology > CNC Tooling > ISO30 tool holder marks: is this normal?

ISO30 tool holder marks: is this normal?

I have no direct experience with ISO30 anything; mid-purchase of a used S30C spindle and tool holders, reported to have low hours. While inspecting the tool holders, all the tapers include markings- some kind of generally blotchy in bands near top and bottom, some with many longitudinal marks starting at the wide end of the tapper and fading out.

The spindle was used with aluminium pretty much exclusively; the tool holders and machine had fine bits of aluminium glitter most everywhere.
    Are these markings normal? Obviously, the concern is runout and possible spindle damage. What do your tool holders look like after ~100 hours use?

Images attached.

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Typical Logitudinal.jpg   Typical.jpg  

Re: ISO30 tool holder marks: is this normal?

I applied a soft chemise and denatured alcohol to the holders- see attached images for the results on the two holders previously pictured. The chemise came away with lots of (presumably) aluminium glitter; a finger nail ran over the surface can detect some of the marks, most with effort.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Overview.jpg