586,103 active members*
3,402 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

USB Flash Drive

I have a new HAAS TM-1P on the way within the next few weeks. It has a USB port for downloading and running programs.

Typically what size and brand of USB Flash Drives do you guys use.

I see they are available in sizes up to 16 GB. One of them even made mention about high speed. I am new to this and wanted to get one for use with my machine.

Any information on this subject would be appreciated.

John

John,
    Why not purchase it from Haas, I am sure it would be competitively priced

I envy you the USB,
    I am sure sick of the floppy on my system.

Ken

I've used a few different types even an external usb hard drive, and all worked for downloading, and FNC operation.
    "It's only funny until some one get's hurt, and then it's just hilarious!!" Mike Patton - Faith No More Ricochet

Hi Ken,

I may ask HAAS about it but I think they are pretty pricy when it comes to computer items.

Just thought this would be a generic item I could pick up at the local computer store.

I know what you mean about the Floppy drives. I have a couple of 3 Axis Seiki XL mills that I am trying to get rid of that have the 3.5 floppy drives on them. I also had to learn the DNC stuff for sending large files to those machines.

Now, you can carry "backup copies" of all your programs in your shirt pocket.

Hi Big Mak,

Thanks for the information on the external hard drive. Another option to keep in mind.

Can't wait until my machine arrives.

Thanks for your valued input.

John

Hi John,
    I was being entirely tongue in cheek in suggesting purchasing it from Haas, it would be 5 times or more what could be purchased elsewhere.

Ken

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1171672069828