586,106 active members*
2,955 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > BobCad with WinCNC controller 2.1

BobCad with WinCNC controller 2.1

Hi I am a total rookie at this stuff and would like to ask a few dumb points. I just bought a Plasma table(Practical CNC) that came with BobCad V19. It has a WinCNC controller 2.1

I would like to know what Nc-machine setup matchs the controller the best?

I seem to have a hard time getting speed out of the cut on some of the arc programs built into the BobCad software. I just can't find how to speed it up past 20 ipm. I have Help showing up next week but I would like to try to make a few practice cuts before he does. I have been reading the manual without much luck.
    I also have about 1000 other questions but this one is bugging me the worst.

I also have some import DXF file questions when I get that far. I think my computer is messing with me on those?

Thanks Scott

Scott,

Bobcad is just cadcam software. It has nothing to do with the performance limitations of your controller. All you can do in Bobcad to affect things is to alter the feedrate. That is not to say that commanding a high feedrate in the program, will result in a high feedrate at the machine. The controller can only do what it can do. So that is where I would be looking to make possible alterations to the controller setup. Again, the whole motor/ amplifier setup has to be capable of what speed that you want it to do.
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

HuFlungDung,