586,096 active members*
3,378 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

marposs probe

what it the difference between the marposs probe and the wireless besides being wireless and cost difference. the web site is very vague

Sure wish someone would help us out. I'd like to know the difference between the Marposs and Renishaw probes myself.

Probing System

Hi Guys,

You may want to do a search on Renishaw? I found this link and it was interesting reading as it generally discussed both the Renishaw and Marpross systems.

http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showth...light=Renishaw

I am a newbie to the CNC world and just ordered a HAAS TM-1P with the Renishaw Wireless Probe and Tool Setter. My local HAAS Engineer always has a smile on his face when talking about the Renishaw Wireless Probe and Tool Setter system.

I received a demo on the unit at my local HAAS Factory Outlet during HAAS Days and was pretty impressed with its operation. The HAAS Engineer did a probe on the ID of a circular pocket and had me write down the coordinates. He then erased the number and reprobed it and it came up with exactly the same number. I think??? he said something about 2 tenths accuracy but his demo was right on.

You may want to talk to your local HAAS Sales Representative. More than likely he will be able to give you a contact name and phone number of both the Renishaw and Marpross technical representatives and also give you some information that he may have accumulated in dealing with both systems.

Just thought this may be of some help.

I will give you guys an update from a "newbies prespective" after I receive my machine and get a chance to use the wireless probing and tool setting system from Renishaw.

John

thanks

thanks for the info. I am a little upset I purchased a tmp3 and purchased the marposs system I also purchased coordinate rotation and scaling and spindle orientation seperatly sounds like I spent 1700 bucks I did not have to