586,106 active members*
3,104 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Other Machines > Engraving Machines > Need help engraving photos

Need help engraving photos

Does anyone out there know if there is a way to laser engrave photos in greyscale 8 bit mode? The programs that I am using are Photoshop, CorelDraw and Corel Photo Paint..I am getting fair results but its a bit of a pain trying to remove the extra dots that are not needed when I use the unsharp mask feature which I have to use in order to convert 1 bit bitmap mode. Greyscale mode would be great to engrave if at all possible?

regards,

Terry

Hi Terry,
    I've been engraving photos for quite a few years now and haven't had much luck engraving 8 bit images. Unfortunately you'll most likely need to look into one of the 3D renedering applications to pull this off successfully. I only know of one that works pretty well and that's EngraveLab. It's a bit pricely though; however, a sales rep will work with you if you're already using CorelDraw. I recall somewhere around the $500-$600 price range a while back. We primarily use PhotoGrav as well as our own in house developed photo engraving application.

Best of luck to you and happy engraving!

-Ed
    nosplinters.com

I have had an unbelievable luck with Photograv, you can purchase it from laserbits.com. I think its about $350 and works well with 8 bit grayscale. Here is a couple pictures I did on absolute black granite.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails AUT_7711.jpg   AUT_7804.JPG  

Damn, that's nice.