587,003 active members*
2,916 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > Loading tool geometry with G10 ???
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    219

    Loading tool geometry with G10 ???

    I am loading some tool offsets with a G10 at the front of the prg. like this.

    G10 P10011 X3.4444 Z 5.5555;
    G10 P10021 X4.4444 Z 6.5555;
    G11

    The problem is when I put a value in the wear offset it resets it to 0. after it reads the G10 again at the front of the prg.

    Is there a way to keep it from resetting the wear every time it reads the G10???

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    263
    Quote Originally Posted by theemudracer View Post
    I am loading some tool offsets with a G10 at the front of the prg. like this.

    G10 P10011 X3.4444 Z 5.5555;
    G10 P10021 X4.4444 Z 6.5555;
    G11

    The problem is when I put a value in the wear offset it resets it to 0. after it reads the G10 again at the front of the prg.

    Is there a way to keep it from resetting the wear every time it reads the G10???

    i have never seen G10 code used the way you have it defined, the Fanuc manual has it defined

    Work coordinates

    G10 G90 L2/L20 P1 X?.????? Y?.????? Z?.????
    L2 activates G54 Thru G59
    P1 = G54 Etc.

    L20 Activates G54.1P1 thru G54.1P48
    P value reacts the same way

    Tool offsets
    G10 G90 L10 P?.???? R?.????
    G10 G90 L11 P?.???? R?.????
    G10 G90 L12 P?.???? R?.????
    G10 G90 L13 P?.???? R?.????
    P is Offset #
    R is Tool Compensation amount

    L10 thru L13 denotes H & D Geometry and Wear Values etc
    If you can ENVISION it I can make it

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    219
    This is the way my Fanuc book says to load tool geometry. It works but it resets the wear everytime. 18-I tb Lathe.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    174

    G10

    @theemudracer...

    Why don't you set your wear offset using G10 on the line after setting your tool offset?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    219
    Because i dont trust the operators to edit any programs. We are using Capto tool holders that are very repeatable and just need to add or subtract a little wear now and then. I was hoping the operator could still do this on the wear page instead of editing the wear at the front of the prg.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    174

    Machine variable

    Look in your manual for which machine variable is used for geom/wear.

    Maybe it's #2500 or #10000??

    Get the control to read your wear offset and enter it into an unused wear offset. Then set geom offset with yer G10's. Then read the value entered in the unused offset and enter it back into the wanted wear offset after G10's.

    eg.

    #2599=#2511 (reads wear entered by operator and writes to unused offset)

    G10 P10011 X3.4444 Z 5.5555;
    G10 P10021 X4.4444 Z 6.5555;
    G11

    (#2511 now zero'd by G10)

    #2511=#2599 (wear offset now re-entered)

    Check your manual for which machine variables to use (#'s).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    219
    Very nice. Exactly the concept I was looking for. I should have thought of that. Some things are so simple after someone shows you how ..ha ha



    thanks a million

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    464
    Why don't you use MDI to set:
    G10 P10011 X3.4444 Z 5.5555;
    G10 P10021 X4.4444 Z 6.5555;
    G11
    instead of in the program?
    Or do you have to do it for every part?
    Stefan Vendin

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    219
    So all the operator has to do is put the correct tools in and hit the green button and add wear when necesarry. I have to make it idiot proof so to speak.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    464
    Right.
    Stefan Vendin

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    274
    Quote Originally Posted by theemudracer View Post
    So all the operator has to do is put the correct tools in and hit the green button and add wear when necesarry. I have to make it idiot proof so to speak.
    Here is how i keep th operators from blowing up our stuff all the red is offset protection, When there is no other offsets allowed then I overwrite the system varible to "0" like #12001=0 I keep all that in a seperate sup that is password protected

    O8013(T01 MILLING)
    (REV A. LINKED OFFSETS RAS 8-3-05)
    G0G17G21G40G49G80G90G94G98M11
    G0G90G10L2P6X-355.0Y-660.0Z-710.0B0.0(G59)
    IF[#534NE18048323.]THEN#3000=53(WRONG PROJECT)
    #30=155.56(NOMINAL TOOL LENGTH)
    #31=.150(TOOL LENGTH TOLERANCE)
    IF[[ABS[#10001-#30]]GT#31]THEN#3000=1(TOOL DATA ERROR H1)
    #1=3500(FIRST SFM)
    #2=.007(FIRST FEED/TOOTH-INCHES)
    #7=3500(SECOND SFM)
    #8=.007(SECOND FEED/TOOTH-INCHES)
    #3=2.0(CUTTER DIA-INCHES)
    #4=5(NUMBER OF FLUTES/TEETH)
    #5=ROUND[[#1*12]/[#3*3.1416]](CALCULATED RPM)
    #6=[[#4*#2*#5]*25.4](CALCULATED FIRST FEED MM/M)
    #9=ROUND[[#7*12]/[#3*3.1416]](CALCULATED RPM)
    #10=[[#4*#8*#9]*25.4](CALCULATED SECOND FEE


    Bluesman

Similar Threads

  1. Dimensions on 2D geometry
    By mayhugh1 in forum SprutCAM
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-26-2006, 05:02 AM
  2. Geometry from NC
    By rherman in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-21-2006, 01:10 PM
  3. Saving Work and Tool off-sets to floppy for later loading ?
    By iMisspell in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-29-2006, 05:09 AM
  4. Help needed on tool path geometry
    By 2_jammer in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 03-13-2006, 06:03 AM
  5. Anyone tried the 2D geometry tools?
    By S4 Monster in forum SprutCAM
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-02-2004, 08:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •