586,068 active members*
3,706 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > G-Code Programing > "Radius to end of arc differs" problems !
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    41

    Unhappy "Radius to end of arc differs" problems !

    Hi to all the g-code buffs, I really hope you can help on this one.

    I make guitars and many of my drawings are very similar with only slight differences.
    I have a problem with routing a pocket which I rout all the time in my other g-codes (guitars) the pocket is identical and indentiacally machined etc.

    I get the "radius to end of arc differs to start on line #xxx"

    if I remove the line below in bold then the code is happy and will load properly, the last line in italics is the problem line.

    I have done all the usual remedies for this issue like changing IJ mode to inc in both Mach3 and my post processor..
    im at a loss - I rout this pocket on almost every guitar without problems - ive even scrapped all my toolpaths and programmed them again for this particular drawing.

    N364 Y-578.975
    N366 X-346.525
    N368 Y-590.775
    N370 X-342.625
    N372 G2 X-336.025 Y-597.375 I0. J-6.6
    N374 G1 Y-621.775
    N376 X-279.233 Y-578.975
    N378 G54 F600.
    N380 G3 X-266.55 Y-591.025 I12.683 J.65 F1250.

    If needs be I will run with the bold line removed but I dont know the consequences of removing it... I think that G54 is my Z axis work offset and 60mm/min is my plunge rate for that operation.

    Jaden

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538
    In Mach3, G54 is the default coordinate system, so that line shouldn't do anything except set the feedrate. Just remove the G54 and make it N378 F600.

    Unless you're in a different offset prior to that call. And btw, that's 600mm/min in that line. And I just noticed that you set the feedrate to 1250 on the next line, so that line really shouldn't be needed at all. Make sure you double check what it's going to do, but i don't think that line is needed at al.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1498
    071216-1047 EST USA

    Geetar-ist:

    Does your program have any G5x other than G54 issued before this problem line? Is there a G54 executed at the beginning of your program?

    When you execute a G5x in a program it sets all ( X, Y, Z, etc) current work coordinates to the contents in G5x.

    A step change in Z between your last move and the start of G03 might cause a program fault.

    .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    41
    Thanks Gerry, thats a relief - taken the weight off my mind and gambling on ruining stock/router bits etc - much appreciated.

    I just loaded it up in mach 3 successfully so that should be good to go - Ill hang over the e-stop for the first one though

    Jaden

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538
    I'd run it in the air first to be safe. I don't know what the rest of your code looks like, so I can't be sure what it will do. I just told you what I see.

    Re reading your first post, I see that I misread it. But I think you mis-wrote it. I thought the bold line was the problem line, and I still do.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    41
    Gar - there are other uses of G54 in the code but ive not had a problem since I first encountered this and read on this forum about the IJ fix.

    this is the first portion of my code up to a couple on instances of G54.

    and Gerry - youre right, I should cut air - ive just lost 1/2 days work and I was being impatient

    N100 G17 G21 G90 G40 G80 G64 G49 G0 M05
    N102 G8 P1
    N104 G90 M05 Z0
    N106 G52 X0. Y0. Z0.
    N108 T1 M06
    ( TOOL - 01 DIA. OFF. - 2 LEN. - 2 DIA. - 12.7 )
    N110 G54 G0 X-103.993 Y-86.258
    N100 G17 G21 G90 G40 G80 G64 G49 G0 M05
    N112 S18000 M3
    N114 G43 H2 Z5.
    N116 Z2.
    N118 G1 Z-1. F600.
    N120 G3 X-104.393 Y-85.858 I-.4 J0. F1250.
    N122 X-104.793 Y-86.258 I0. J-.4
    N124 X-104.393 Y-86.658 I.4 J0.
    N126 X-103.993 Y-86.258 I0. J.4
    N128 G0 Z1.
    N130 Z2.
    N132 G64
    N134 G54 X-103.743
    N136 G1 Z-1. F600.
    N138 G3 X-104.393 Y-85.608 I-.65 J0. F1250.
    N140 X-105.043 Y-86.258 I0. J-.65
    N142 X-104.393 Y-86.908 I.65 J0.
    N144 X-103.743 Y-86.258 I0. J.65
    N146 G0 Z5.
    N148 G54 X-328.11 Y-576.805
    N150 Z2.
    N152 G1 Z-6. F600.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538
    What are you using to create your code? I don't think you need any of these G54's.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    41
    im using the default post in mastercam X
    ive talked with other mastercam users and some recommend never going beyond 9...
    I dont have the luxury of rolling back.

Similar Threads

  1. "low end" HF Spindle or "high end" router for about $1000?
    By biomed_eng in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-06-2012, 07:15 AM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-07-2007, 01:43 AM
  3. Has anyone looked at the "JET" or "Shop Fox" manual machines?
    By boosted in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-05-2007, 04:33 AM
  4. Vertical system "jerks" and "bangs"??
    By REVCAM_Bob in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-12-2006, 03:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •