586,112 active members*
3,028 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Bridgeport Machines > Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills > Bridgeport series II interact II tool holders ?

Bridgeport series II interact II tool holders ?

I know this question has been asked before but it seems that there has been conflicting answers in the past threads. I have a bridgeport series II interact 2there is no drawbar I have the collett that you tighten with a spanner wrench to tighten the tool holder. So which taper is it bt30, nmtb30, or erickson quick change 30? I'm a newbie to CNC so forgive me if these are all the same thing I just want to be sure to get the right holders.

taper for series II

Hello need a bit more info but if the outside diameter of the quill is about 3.75" its 30 international, if it's 6.000" diameter then it's 40 international also this size will have a 4 HP motor the smaller 30 int will have a 2 HP motor both spindles are probably Bristol Erickson locking ring, hope this helps cheers Colin.

thanks Colin so I have a 30 international. I guess I'm still confused does this mean that a bt30, nmtb30, or a quick change 30 toolholder will work. Again i'm new at this

series II taper

Hello again I would more than likely say that you have a BT30 locking ring on your machine check to see if it has three Button head screws around the circumferance if so this a Bristol Erickson locking ring and takes the tooling with one flange for locking the tool into the spindle and two notches for the driving dogs on the spindle hope this sets your mind at rest, see if you can borrow a 30 int toolholder from someone to try it out. Cheers Colin

Yes!! thank you very much for your help. Hopefully I will be able to return the favor in the future.

Be aware that Int 30 is not the same as QC30.The flange of the QC is smaller in diameter and thicker than the Int30.
    Hood who posts here sometimes has copy of the spec somewhere.
    Mark.