586,075 active members*
4,364 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Any DIY CNC people near Santa Cruz, CA?

Any DIY CNC people near Santa Cruz, CA?

Hello -

I'm just getting started on the CNCZone here. I run a small model airplane (rc) kit company out of my home here in Santa Cruz, CA. I do all my kit production using a kit built laser cutter (by Emission Technologies). So my background in CNC is limited to 2 axis work (well I guess some folks would consider a laser cutter 2 1/2 axis right?) Anyway, I'm considering building a CNC for my shop, so that I can create plugs for vac forming and fiberglass part production. I'm hoping to machine cowls, canopies, spinners etc from either hard wood or foam, so that I can create molds for those parts. Attached are a few pics of a cowl I made using laser cut stacks of balsa, which I then sanded and primed. Doing shapes like this is fairly straight forward, but when it comes to more complex shapes, this method can fall short. So, I'm hoping to either build/assemble a system that would suit my needs. I'm wondering if there are any CNC folks in the Santa Cruz/San Jose area who would be willing to let me check out their rigs, or perhaps even offer me some help and guidance. Ideally, what I'm looking to build would be something on the smaller end (no larger than 12X24 cutting bed) but that would have a good amount of Z travel - say 6" or even more.

Thanks

-Sky
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails CowlBalsa.jpg   CowlFinishedPlug.jpg  

That's funny. I have been using my CNC to machine aluminum parts for 1/5 scale RC cars in the bay area. I am in the middle of making a vacuum forming machine to make car bodies and I also need to do 3D CNC for the mold on my machine. I am currently looking for a CAM package.

Brice -