586,060 active members*
4,514 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Tool # problem

Hello,
    I'm new to CNC so please bear with me. I am using an older Supermax mill with a Fanuc OM control on it. It does not have a toolchanger so I have to change then manually. The problem I'm having is that when a program calls for a tool number the program pauses. The green cycle start button stays lit, but nothing happens? If I press reset it will continue on, but, it will skip the line of code under it. Also It is not picking up the tool size in the control.

I would like to be able to use the tool # to be able to change the size of the tool so I can adjust the sizes of my tools if needed.

Any suggestions?

Thanks, Wes

Should use G41/G42 Dnn, G43 Hnn after M01 instead.

What happens if you press the cycle start without pressing reset? Does the program continue on?

The tool # shouldn't have any effect on the size of the tool (either length or diameter).
    As Jung says, use a G43 to activate the length comp (H01 - H??) when you rapid down to your clearance plane after the tool change. To adjust for the diameter or radius, use G41 (tool left) and G42 (tool right) with an H (or D). Most of the old Fanucs used H for length AND diameter, but some used H for lenght and D for diameter. If you're stuck with just H, you'll probably go with H01 - H20 for length, and H21 - H32 for diameter.

I disagree with the M01 as Jung suggested, as you have to have the Opt. Stop switch on, or it'll go right past it. I would use M00 instead, unless the M06 is working correctly.

Thanks guys, I'll give that a try. I use the M00 in case I forget to press the optional stop.

If I press the cycle start nothing happens. I'll mess with the G43 and G42 and see what happens.

Thanks again foe your responses, Wes