586,119 active members*
3,549 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

CNC feed rate and spindle speed

Dear all,
    5 months ago, i have joined a company which fabricates plastic parts and my position is product development.

however, the 2nd week after i joined, they transfer me to process department. at here, i have to involved in CNC, cad/cam. before this, i know nothing of cnc and cam.

now, i only relied on the software (alpha cam) to generate the g code.
    Several parts have been fabricated/cnc cut using the g code which i created.

however, i found that the products or the result were not so good.

and the spindle speed and the feedrate which i set was always modified by the operator of the cnc machine.

is the feedrate and spindle speed can affect the outcome of the product?
    if yes, then how are we going to make decision on feedrate and spindle speed to be used?

i am really new in this field. i will appreciate if someone can provided any tips and or way that can improved my cnc and cam skill.

thanks
    :cheers:

Hi:
    Talk to the operator, and ask him for some feedback on the speeds and feeds he is using (his input is invaluable). Use those as a starting point. There is alot of info available from the materials manufacturers on the suggested starting speeds and feeds for milling and drilling.
    The Machinery Handbook is also a very good reference for speeds and feeds.

hope this helps

well for one there are basic cutting speed that are used to calculate feed and speed but those may vary from one place to another here are some basic line

first and foremost the tool used to cut the material (coated vs noncoated - carbide vs hss - 2,3,4,5,6 flutes etc....)
    the material it self (type of material - thickness of it etc...)
    the machine itself (the size of the machine and built)
    and also the setup type