586,111 active members*
3,474 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > File conversion needed MC9 to dwg/dxf

File conversion needed MC9 to dwg/dxf

I've been working with AutoCAD since 1992 doing 2d & solid modeling for a number of companies. But now I have an opportunity to program MasterCAM 9 for a new job. I want to practice on a MC drawing in AutoCAD 2008 but I need to have it converted to dwg/dxf. As I understand it I can manipulate or create geometry in ACAD and bring it into MC9 and then generate the g-codes(?) toolpaths to do the final routing in the wood medium. Any help would really give me a leg up on the process. And that translates to my effectiveness on the job. Thanks, BB

Yup:

Output from Autocad as a 2000i dxf or dwg, and import into Mastercam. Generate your toolpaths and covert into Gcode. Any experience with machining?

File conversion

No experience on the CAM side of things, just CAD. I'm really looking forward to this new area of manufacturing. The people I am working for are doing rifle/gun stocks as well as some furniture. This is really a project/hobby started up by an old friend who I worked with at Boeing for years. He gave me an old MC9 file of a guitar body. Now I want to open it up in AutoCAD 2008 and play with it. Is there any way someone can convert this MC9 file into a dwg/dxf that I can open? Let me know and I will email it to you, thanks. Bruce

file conv

don't know about 9 , but X you have , open, do/SAVE AS/ when dialog box open's, go to the bottom of it, two option's, FILE NAME & SAVE AS TYPE. set Save As Type to what you want it to be , in your case, dwg/dxf. ( may not have this option & may depend on what level you have. Maybe someone with a little more experience with 9, can chip in. Harold

Cool Conversion.

In mastercam, save as ACIS.sat file (version 6) to export to ACAD in 3D
    Use file/converters to get to the correct menu.