586,096 active members*
3,158 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

How does a surface grinder work.

Hi everyone,

I am very new to this machining stuff.
    About 9 months ago I bought a X3 milling machine and a C6 Lathe.
    The milling machine is the first one I have ever seen in real life. I am really only starting to learn how to use both of the machines now.

I have spent hours and hours reading this site and I want to CNC the milling machine some day.

I keep reading about surface grinders and I have never heard of such a machine before and I can't understand exactly how they work.

I know that they are used to make very precise surfaces by grind the metal off. What I cant understand is why the grinding wheel does not loose diameter as it grinds thus making the surface uneven as time goes by.

Thanks in advance,
    Smoggy

PS this is my first post

Quote Originally Posted by SmoggyTurnip View Post
    What I cant understand is why the grinding wheel does not loose diameter as it grinds thus making the surface uneven as time goes by.

Thanks in advance,
    Smoggy
    They do, so every so often you have to dress the wheel, normally done with a diamond tipped tool (but there are other ways) that is feed across the face of the wheel like a lathe turning operation. This reduces the diameter of the wheel but since the operator or the CNC control knows the position of the diamond relative to the part it is possible to adjust for the change in size and go right back to grinding where you stopped.
    The diamond also changes size as it is used but that is slow enough not to be a big problem, just need to bump an offset now and then.

How often the wheel has to be dressed depends on the type of wheel, what is being ground, the finish you want, the tolerances you are holding, etc..