587,011 active members*
3,930 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

5 x 10 table for plasma / tourch / router - project

Hello All,

I've been working on my project for about 6 months and I'm almost ready to start connecting the wires to the servo motors. It's been a real time consuming project. Those ads saying you can build one in a week or so are just trying to suck you in to buy their products in my opinion. I've been keeping a log on part numbers, where they came from, and cost. That's the hardest part of building a machine is coming up with a design and figuring out where and what to purchase.

I've used ideas from a lot of different machines, some from cnczone and other production machines.

Also, have an on going set of plans I've drawn in AutoCAD. I'd be willing to share if anyone is interested. The drawing is not 100% but its close. As the parts are needed I draw and update my final drawing.

This is an entry level machine. It is all I can do with the tools available and my knowledge of machine work. Also, I'm trying to use available materials that aren't hard to find. Why make it harder than what it already is?

I'm sure when it comes to getting the software and controler to work will be another big learning curve. I'm just taking it one step at a time.

Thanks for reading.

ajclay

Sounds interesting. I would love to see your plans. You build this table out of steel I would assume since you list it as plasma. I have a small 4 x 4 plasma table and have been thinking about a 5 x 10. Have any pictures you can post of your machine? How about cost estimates?

Congrats on almost being done!

Rick

Rick,