586,075 active members*
3,714 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Should I do a mill or lathe

Hello

Is a lathe more versatile than a mill.

I am a mechanical designer needing to prototype small aluminum parts

I definelty need to turn parts and I need a fairly small area to do some profiling on these parts.

So I am thinking of going to cnc lathe

Whats the best set up for cnc with under 2000.00 to play with.

Thanks for any help

Steven

CNC MILL with 4th Axis. 5th Axis is better.

i would go for a mill first but you will miss the capacity of a lathe fast, you can get along doing certain work with a 4th axis but for cylindrical part there is nothing like a lathe
    The opinions expressed in this post are my own. -Les opinions exprimé dans ce messages sont les mienne

I agree.
    Mill can do alot of things. But TURNING is best done with a lathe.

Hi,
    Well I did a cnc lathe first, but then I did a cnc mill.
    I should of done a mill first, because you can buy a lathe chuck that can fit in the spindle of the mill and turn items up.
    As long as it isn't a long piece that needs to go thought the centre.
    Just mount the tools on a fairly desent height block on the deck of the mill.

If you get really tricky you can mount all your tools allong the block and if you want to change tools you just move to the next one.
    An auto tool changer sort of thing.
    I have turned on a mill and it works out just fine.

As Oldboy said you can use a 4th axis. This is a great idea as you mill the metal off instead cutting it off, plus do much much more.
    But for turning there is nothing like a lathe.

Rod

Might consider a non-NC lathe and a CNC mill....that's where I'm at right now and I have quite a lot of capability. Will soon be upgrading my mill to a new one, but intend to keep a manual lathe.

Hello

I found a xendoll lathe cnc and cnc milling machine (both 3 axis) c/w software ,stepper motors, 3 axis controller.