587,006 active members*
2,878 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Vacuum Chuck/Table Creation QUestions

Vacuum Chuck/Table Creation QUestions

Hi, I am a student at Mid Florida Tech and I was thinking about creating a Vacuum Table to sue for engraving and machining. This would go on the school's Hurco VM1 and be machined on it mostly as well. My plan was to use ~150 10-32 set screws in rows and a 1/8NPT inlet for vacuum as well as one for a gauge with the under surface "tubes" being drilled 1/4". The table would have about 12"x10" of holding area.

How can I use the shop air to create the vacuum?
    How many psi of vacuum are usually used to hold parts in place?
    I have seen others which operate off of shop air but do not know how this works. If I need to attach an external vacuum source that runs off electrical power and not shop air, what is commonly used?

Any advice for construction or perhaps letting me know how well these work?

My plan was to use 1" Mild Steel plate for material so that it could be ground flat on a surface grinder.

you would need some type of vacuum pump to get a suction. depending on the material you might be able to just use a shop vac motor/pump, but with one of those you really have to watch out for heat buildup because it wont take too much.

we made a couple here out of aluminium and on plastic parts it works like a charm. but we did buy a commercial vacuum pump.

the amount of PSI you would need (not sure if a vacuum is gaged in PSI) would depend on the material and how flat it actually is I would imagine.

other than that, the setup you described sounds to be fine.

edit:
    For the fun of it, I google searched DIY vacuum tables and came up with a crap load of resources.. might want to do that too..

I did but most of the ones I saw were about vacuum forming plastic. I want something to hold a piece or jig for machining and quicker parts changes.