586,069 active members*
3,425 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

How can I get my machine up and running?!

Hey guys-

I am trying to help someone get a bridgeport EZ-trak SX up and running. The hard drive went out in it, so I bought 3 identical hard drives on eBay to reload the mill software on. Right now I have DOS 6.22 loaded along with the bridgport EX-trak software. What do I need to do now as far as putting this hard drive in the mill and setting it up? I am a newb at mills, but I am a computer technician...

Any help would be great!

Does the machine have the original mother board?
    What size did you partition the hard drive?
    The original SX did not have a hard drive. The DX did.
    Set the CMOS?
    Try booting?
    Set the machine travel, backlash, pitch error, etc.

Ready to go.

George
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Quote Originally Posted by machintek View Post
    Does the machine have the original mother board?
    What size did you partition the hard drive?
    The original SX did not have a hard drive. The DX did.
    Set the CMOS?
    Try booting?
    Set the machine travel, backlash, pitch error, etc.

Ready to go.

George
    I am pretty sure it has the original motherboard in it- He didnt tell me that was ever replaced. It is a 1.5g HDD, and I just made one partition on it.

You say the SX didnt ever have a hard drive?? Thats strange I will have to make sure his is not the DX then..

Where do you set the machine travel, backlash, ETC? Will it prompt me to enter that? I have never messed with anything like this before..

thanks for the help so far!

Im not sure whats going on, I replied to your post, but I didnt show up- If this is a double post I apologize!