587,025 active members*
3,809 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

R8 tool changing

I've done a ton of searches,but cant find any pictorial/tutorial's on tool changing.i recieved a 3 page manual with my new mill/drill.so theres nothing that addresses how to remove chuck arbor to insert collets or end mill holders.how exactly is this done..,or could someone point me in the right place to look?

sorry..,im a total mill newb

What kind of mill is it?
    Is it a manual drawbar or pneumatic?

If its manual, there should be a spindle brake on the side of the head just below the motor. While holding the brake, loosen or tighten the drawbar that is on top of the head.

If its pneumatic, there should be a lever that loosens and tightens the drawbar automatically depending on what way you pull it.

if it's an x3 slacken the drawbar (14mm spanner)(under the little tophat cover on top of the head )a couple of turns then a sharp tap with a soft face mallet or so and that should break the taper then just unscrew the drawbar occasionally tapping it to release the collet /chuck

theres a key in the x3 spindle that locates the slot in the collet (have a look see)
    a bit of oil won't harm when you fit another collet too

These should come with an in depth manual for us newb's..this is the one i got:http://busybeetools.ca/cgi-bin/pictu...7&NTITEM=B1976

It came with a small drift key..,as you mentioned Mike.i need to see this hands on to grasp it..,im slow like that.

balibalistic,

There should be a large hex nut on top of the spindle step pulley, and a smaller hex nut above that. Use a large adjustable on the larger hex nut to hold the spindle steady, and a smaller adjustable or proper sized wrench to loosen the small hex nut above. Only loosen a few turn.
    Next wrap the draw bar (small hex nut) with a soft faced hammer or chunk of aluminum. Then hold the chuck with your hand while the other hand completely loosens the draw bar.