586,069 active members*
3,446 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

homeshopcnc HF Spindle

Hi Everyone,
    I was wondering if anyone out there has tried out the HF spindle from homeshopcnc.com and would like to share any feedback. I am considering adding one to my new machine. Any thoughts?

Expect to add at about $500 or more for a VFD, line reactor and filter. And then you need to add a water pump and reservoir to cool it. But it does look interesting.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Hi Ger,
    I have some VFD experience, but could you share a little more about the requirements for a line reactor and filter? I have seen others on this forum use a line reactor for input and output, is this the preferred way to go? Are 2 reactors, and a filter necessary? I work for an espresso machine company, so I have the pump side covered. I had a crazy idea to use my 8020 gantry as the cooling manifold...... I have 2 pieces of 1.5x4 attached to either side of a piece of 3x6, so there is certainly a lot of mass there to soak up heat. As long as it didn't hold 50lbs. of coolant, and the temp rise didn't screw up the z-axis calibration, it might work. I'm hoping they post some more detailed specs on the spindle so I can figure out what kind of watt dissipation is required of the cooling system. What do you think?
    -Jacob

I don't know much about VFD's, but looking at Automation Direct, they offer all those accessories with their VFD's.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html