586,069 active members*
3,714 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Mach3/madCAM, mill feed rates,homing, and scaleing

Hello, I have a few problems that you guys can help me out on since I'm still a novice.
    1. What should I set my feed rate as in madCAM when making the G code for cutting plastic/machinable wax? I tried changing it from 11 to 50,100, and 500 all of which showed very little increase in speed. What are the units for the feed rate?

2. When I click GOTO Z to go home, it homes the X and Y axis and then the Z. I hadn't thought about it until I clicked home after a test engraving and it put a nice groove across my work. :withstupi haha. Is there a setting to change that?

3. For some reason, I can't get the mill to make the correct size part. Not even within 25%. Example. I draw a pocket in rhino3d that is 1" by 1", extrude it down .1". Then I make the tool path and then the g code, load it into mach3, and run the code. the pocket comes out to about .25"x.25" square. What are all the settings I need to change?
    Thanks
    TaylorN.

check out this trouble shooting video http://www.machsupport.com/Videos/Ma...elections.html. It has a easy way to set up your machine for proper sizing.

Good Luck
    Dan

Well, I got the feed rate to work for me. But I'm still having problems with homing and scaling. I thought that since my board is set up for 1/8 steps, that something was wrong in mach3, so I scaled the drawing up 8 times in rhino and it made the part bigger, but still not the right size.HELP!!!

Send me a pm with your email address and I will try to help. Don't want to do it here on the open forum.

Mike
    No greater love can a man have than this, that he give his life for a friend.