586,036 active members*
3,617 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Milltronics > Connecting DNC to older Partner MB 20

Connecting DNC to older Partner MB 20

I am fairly new to CNC and use a Partner MB 20 from 1997. I've written some smaller programs that have worked great. I can't load the latest program I wrote because I get an "insufficient part storage" error comes up. Do I need to upgrade the memory or use a DNC cable and a laptop.
    Any help would be great.

Have you tried deleting other programs from the control and then loading the file? If you are still having trouble with memory issues, you can use the RS232 to DNC the program. Take a look at some of my other posts as I recall attaching information regarding RS232.

Thanks for the quick response. I already deleted all the files in memory and I still get an "insufficient parts storage". I am getting a USB to RS232 cable so I hope it will work now. What DNC program do you recommend?
    Any problems using a USB to serial connection, I have a newer laptop that doesn't have a serial connection.

Quote Originally Posted by RobT View Post
    Thanks for the quick response. I already deleted all the files in memory and I still get an "insufficient parts storage". I am getting a USB to RS232 cable so I hope it will work now. What DNC program do you recommend?
    Any problems using a USB to serial connection, I have a newer laptop that doesn't have a serial connection.
    I am not familair enough with DNC programs to recommend one over the other. I do use a PC card to serial adapter in my pc and it seems to work just fine. I have not used a USB to serial adapter. Sorry I could not be of more assistance.

You may get lucky and the usb to rs232 will work, mine did not. I use a pcmcia to rs232 and it works great. For transferring to the machines I use http://www.controlinksystems.com/
    Search ebay, sometimes it's on there for 100 bucks.
    Dave