586,121 active members*
3,289 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

G42 explained?

Just to give a quick overview of me, i have been operating cnc's for about 7 yrs. at the current im in my second semester of school for programming. i have a problem that im not sure which is the correct way to program this segment of the next project. i roughed the dia. using a G02 command. im at the point that i am ready to do a finish pass im required to use a G42 command.

G42 G02 X____ Z_____ ? would this be the correct way? Or do i leave out the G02 for the following block?

You should lead in with a G01, then use the G42
    This explains it better
    http://tinyurl.com/29s9vx

Surprised that's not in any of your books?

i have the hand outs but it didn't explain it as such. ty for the link. ill study it a bit. thanks.

turn cutter comp on and feed to the start point and then make your radius.

G0X---Z--- (RAPID TO .100 OF STARTING POSITION OF RADIUS)
    G42GO1X---Z----(START POSITION FOR RADIUS)
    G02X---Z---R--- (RADIUS)
    G01X---Z--- (MUST HAVE LINEAR FEED AFTER RADIUS TO TURN CC OFF)
    G40 (TURN CUTTER COMP OFF)

450, mudracer has it correct.

If I could expand on it a bit.....

Before we call radius comp, we're programming the intersection of the horizontal and vertical tangent lines to the insert radius.

When you call radius comp the control takes over and compensates for the radius on the insert by no longer moving using the intersection of the tangent lines. It moves the insert to the intersection of the two radii.... the radius you intend to make and the radius on the insert.

Let's do a simple one. We have a 10." diameter OD. We want a .1" radius on the face of the part at the 10." dia. The part face is Z0. Let's round the 1/32" nose radius on the insert to .03" for simplicity.

N10 G0 X9.8 Z.1 [10." DIA MINUS .1 RADIUS DOUBLED]
    N20 G42 G1 X9.8 Z0 F.007 [X REDUNDANCY FOR CLARITY]
    N30 G3 X10. Z-.1 R.1