586,069 active members*
3,617 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Resurrection of a Hercus v300 Compumill

Resurrection of a Hercus v300 Compumill

Hi all,

I'm new to this forum, I am a final year student and my final year project is to take an old Hercus v300 Compumill and rip out it's electronics and replace them so that it can become operational again. I am totally new to this and I would appreciate any help.

So far I have seen a previous article here about a Hercus CNC v300 Compumill, however it was quite limited and so is the manual I have. If anyone knows where I can get a service manual or something that can tell me a little more about the circuits and drives that I'm dealing with I would really appreciate it.

The ANCA 2000 board that contains all the high level electronics has had coolant leaked onto it and after storage in a shed for several years it's become significantly damaged. This is the reason that we acquired the machine without a hefty price. The drives and spindle and mechanical parts (as far as I've been told) are in perfect working order, it's just the electronics that are screwed up. My project supervisor and I quickly decided that the best option would to replace the ANCA 2000 board with some newer electronics.

I'm now at the stage of trying to access the motor drives and the resolvers to try and figure out a little more about how the machine works.

I'll be doing that tomorrow, I'll keep everyone (which is basically myself so far) posted.

PS: Does anyone know anything about how to make polycarbonate safety covers??? (Yes, I know, I really have jumped in the deep end with this project... )

Thanks.

Sorry about the late reply...

Howdy:

I do search this site for Hercus comments from time to time. I must have missed your question.

I revived a Hercus V300 mill and I am working on the lathe too.