586,075 active members*
4,155 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Any money in this?

Any money in this?

Hello all,
    I apologize for the shameless attempt at an attention getting title. My name is Tom and I have just recently come across this forum on the internet. I have about 8 or 9 years of NC experience, but it was from the early 80's through 1991 and haven't done anything in the field since. About two years ago I inherited a little South Bend lathe, then I bought a little milling machine, then some plans off of eBay for a homemade CNC router (which I have not built yet), now I'm hooked all over again!

So now, as the title implies, I am wondering if there is sufficient demand for CNC services to make a go of it? I have been assuming that much of the CNC work has been offshore outsourced, is this so?

Just to provide a little more background, I went to a trade school after high school and worked for a couple of years running mostly 4-axis E-Cell-O and K&T machines. I then went to work for Boeing and was put through their 320-hour NC programming course. I programmed in APT, mostly 5-axis stuff, for about 6 years. They were transitioning to CATIA during the last year or so I was there. I also worked for about a year for LTV Aerospace programming a CMM, but really preferred to make chips.

I'm sure a whole lot has changed in the last 17 years, but I feel that the basics are all pretty much there. I'd love to buy a little Haas mill and run it in my garage of an evening and on the weekends (sounds familiar, eh) but don't know if it would be a losing proposition.

Thanks for any thoughts or words of wisdom,

Tom

oh yes, a lot. but it has the wrong sign (-). (nuts)

actually, the people who are making money might not be so quick to responding for further information. macroeconomics in play...

Everybody I know is at a large net fiscal loss, but with an extreme nontangentable return in knowledge and experience.