586,036 active members*
3,941 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

increasing cycle times

Just for fun

The owner of the shop refuses to buy any new CNCs until we have cycle times that are at least 60% of our total on times for the machine. It's just not gonna happen when we're making less than 5 parts in a run. I've noticed that when holding down the tool release button this adds to the cycle time. So i was wondering if anyone else knew of some ways to "cheat" the cycle clock to add to it while doing setups, looking for tools, etc.

I worked in a shop that did something similar to us. We also did short runs, 5 to 10 parts. Then I asked myself, self, how do I increase my cycle time? I guess I could make my parts take longer or shut the machine off when I wasn't making parts, but that wasn't right.

Then it dawned on me, how do I reduce my non cycle time? There is only two places to reduce non cycle time, programming and setup. Our machines had macros that no one used. I went home and started writing macros (parametric programs) to do a lot things that we always did, fly cutting parts, square plates, drilling holes, etc. By using these parametric programs, "programming" went down to less than a minute for some parts. Next was setup, I went to a dedicated tool drum so I did not have to "chase" so many tools. I hate chasing tooling! This cut my setup time in half. The other benefit of a dedicated tool drum is that I did not have to "dial in" my tools for every part (another time saver). I also kept my vise and fixture offsets documented so I did not have to edge find and/or indicate every part in.

After implementing these simple measures, we went from 200k/month to 610k/month in production. Our quality also improved, all in three short months. We all got raises and two brand new machines, one CNC mill and one CNC lathe.

And you know the best part, I did not have to work so hard anymore.

Hope this helps,
    Mike

And that's what makes it so frustrating...