586,108 active members*
3,150 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thermo Dynamics/High Frequency/THC

I have a Thermo Dynamics Cut-master 75, I bought it new in 2005. It's a good working manual machine. I called the factory to see if it could be used on my new cnc table and they tell me it is not set up for machine use and it is a High Frequency Start...Not very good news for me... So my question is: Has anyone successfully used a similar high frequency machine on they're cnc cutting table. Any input or help would be appreciated. I have a dynatorch THC.

Firebass

Hi Freq

We used a 100 Amp Hi Freq on a CNC table and yes it can be done. But How vauable is your time? We spent weeks, no maybe months before all of the intermitent faults and glitches disappeared. Plus the torch technology keeps improving so a new unit may pay for itself quickly in regards to tips and electrodes. Thermal Dynamics has a new line out called "TRUE" you may want to look at.

BK

There are over 100,000 cnc cutting machines operating in N. America with high frequency start plasma systems...with arc voltage feedback torch height controls. Ten years ago....virtually all plasma systems were of the high frequency start variety...including entry level hand cutting systems.

Today...most high end industrial plasma's use high frequency start...as this technology allows for better cut part accuracy and longer consumable life....by allowing the design engineers to develop consumable parts that are held in near perfect alignment. All Hypertherm systems over 100 Amps (Max200, HT2000, HSD130, HPR130, HPR260,HT4400, HT4001) use high frequency start...and these machines all end up on cnc machines with arc voltage height control.