586,112 active members*
3,035 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Okuma > HOW DO I PROGRAM A RADIUS ON OKUMA OSP5020L CONTROL?

HOW DO I PROGRAM A RADIUS ON OKUMA OSP5020L CONTROL?

HELLO!
    I'm a newbie to this site. It seems to be helpful. So here goes. I just started to machine on an Okuma Lathe with an OSP 5020L Control. I do not know how to use G2's or G3's. I was told by some one I can use the "L" word as well. Is there anyone out there that can give me an example. I'm trying to make a .531 radius on an I.D. Also.....does anyone know where I can get manuals for Okuma Lathes? Thanks!

Feed the tool to the start of the arc.
    Program the arc using L for the radius, or I and K for the X and Z distance from startpoint to center of arc.

G01 X2.062 Z0 F0.01
    G02 X1.000 Z-0.531 L0.531 (OR I0 K-0.531 INSTEAD OF L)
    G01 Z-2.0

Thanks dude!

he,dude how can i get the valu of I,J,K, in radius G02,G03,programing please give me formule,and some examples for same

Understand the terms.

It becomes much clearer once you understand the terms.
    This is for the XY plane. G17 selects this plane.
    The start point for the arc is current XY location
    G2 x y i j
    where x and y are the end point. (same and not needed for a full circle)
    i is the x offset to the center and j the y offset to the centre.
    This doesn't require radius R, so all the incomplete circle problems vanish.
    I J and K is the X Y Z location of the center.
    You need to make sure you use the correct distance mode.
    See G90/G91 below.

I prefer absolute mode (G90)
    Straight out of the Mach3 manual:

10.7.3 Arc at Feed Rate - G2 and G3
    A circular or helical arc is specified using either G2 (clockwise arc) or G3
    (counterclockwise arc). The axis of the circle or helix must be parallel to the X, Y, or Z-axis
    of the machine coordinate system. The axis (or, equivalently, the plane perpendicular to the