586,076 active members*
3,737 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: New to CNC

New to CNC

Hi All,

I am new to CNC and I am buying a Torchmate 3 Kit next week. I will not be able to afford the Torch Height Controller right away. I need to know how one is to control the pierce height and then get down to the cutting height without this system. I have a Hypertherm 1250 Cutter.
    Thanks in advance for all help.
    Mike Pennington

Contact torchmate I am sure they will help you.You will need to get set up so you will have an intial torch height control.

Hi,
    What is an initial torch height control?
    Mike Pennington

The only way is by hand. You manually turn a knob on the tourch holder to adjust the height. Believe me it is a big pain in the butt. Try to get the Torch Height Controller as soon as possible. My friend bought one without the height controller and was not able to do very good work at all without it. To have a CNC machine and have to manually adjust it constantly does not make sense to me.

aicomp,

The height control automatically adjusts the the distance between the tourch nozzle and the material. As you cut some material it tends to bow upwards towards the tourch. You must back the tourch off manually when it does this while the machine is moving. The reason you do this is because the tourch cuts and produces the best edge finish when this distance or gap is maintained at a constant distance.

Hi All,
    I shall get the torch height control asap . I will start building the table and taking pictures. I hope to have the cash for the hieght controller before I finish.

Thanks,
    Mike

Your Welcome. Advise straight from my heart. If I was going to buy a Plasma Table I would buy it without hesitation. Let me know if you need any help. The Tourchmate phone help was very good for my friend though.

Hi,