586,111 active members*
3,097 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

3 Axis Rotary CNC Router

Hello,
    I am new to this, but not new to woodworking. I build custom duck calls as a hobby as well as furniture from time to time. I have become extremely interested in Homemade CNC Routers, but have no experience whatsoever other than being a redneck and fixing things without paying someone else to do it!!!

Anyways, I have a question, or an idea. Would someone be willing to let me know if this is possible, or how to do this? My big thing is I like to know how much everything is going to cost before I do it!

I want to build a 3 axis rotary CNC Router to engrave duck calls with. I am thinking that I could use my wood working lathe, attach an x axis moving gantry to the cast iron bed with a z axis for the router upright. The complication that I am concerned about is that I want to run the y axis to spin the lathe as the router engraves in straight lines with the x and z axis. Is this possible? I don't see the point of having the router move side to side when it is going to stay in the same place (top dead center)anyway. So back and forth, up and down, and spin should be satisfactory for what I want to do as long as I can find a controller for it. Does anyone know of a controller that this would work with? I am also wondering if a normal 3 axis controller would control it if I used the diameter of the duck call being engraved as the size of the y axis table. The only problem I have there would be that the duck calls are tapered to the end and none of them are ever the same.

If anyone could give me some information on this, I would be highly appreciative. If this is not possible, how much harder is it to build a 4 axis cnc router?

Here is my website if anyone wants to check out my duck calls and some of my handywork:
    http://www.bearkraft.com