586,655 active members*
4,086 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Cheap CNC, eh? ;)

Hi Folks!

Just found this site tonight, I think I'll fit right in... LOL!

My project: A cheap CNC machine built using materials from Home Depot (don't laugh... ok, laugh... ). The goal of this project was to start familiarizing myself with hands-on CNC experience without a big investment (with a perk of kicking out some nifty Christmas gifts for a large and extended family..). I plan on at least two more "useable" CNC machines that will be more of an investment (three, perhaps? LOL), and wanted to start familiarizing myself with practical experience before taking the "plunge".

My background: I have a degree in electronics, worked w/ linear motion years ago, satelite tracking systems. I write software for a living now. I have a small mill and small lathe I've purchased in the past couple of years (7x12 lathe, mini-mill). I have always enjoyed building / making things, and I find myself leaning more towards the tangible as of late (software being more of a "virtual" creation).

The Machine:

4 - 50 oz/in steppers driven by a custom (read home-brewed) driver using half-stepping code on PIC 16F84A's (code from www.dakeng.com for the two PIC chips), running IRF-740 MOSFET's using a really messy logic-to-gate driver stage. Plain Jane, no chopper, 3 axis' worth of drivers. Steppers are ~12v, using 12v Radio Shack 25a (overkill) power supply (again, no chopper drive here).

Machine Structure is made entirely of 3/4" birch plywood (two sheets of 2' x 4' required). Major panels: 7. Minor ply pieces (motor mounts, nut brackets), 8.

Custom machined stuff: screw ends (4) machined, couplers (4) machined, nut carriers (4) machined.

Screws: (ok, laugh all 'ya want) 1/4" x 20 threaded brass rod (translate, SLOW!). Nuts: 1/4" x 20 steel (not pre-loaded, angled to reduce play).

Slides: (Ok, laugh really hard) ball bearing keyboard drawer slides (3 pair).