586,096 active members*
3,758 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Macro Programming

I've been programming with esprit cam software for 9 years and just recently
    have been trained to start using Master Cam X2 cam software.I like both
    very well but in the work I do, I need to be able to program
    using macros. I 've had a programming class on macros recently and
    having a hard time understanding how to write a macro program.
    Any tips on how I can pick this up within a reasonable amount of time.

John, sorry that you haven't received an answer yet. I can't help you either. You are already further along than I am since you have taken a class on it. I have been teaching myself, although I do want to take the online course. Haven't gotten the nerve to sign up yet.

Have you visited the Parametric Programming section yet? It is under G-Code Programming. You might get some answers there. You will also find some examples of Parametric programming.

Do you have any specific questions? We all like to help when we can. Best advice I can give is to just start doing it. I only program for lathes, so am limited in my use of parametric programming.

I started off by writing a master program for each thread size (from 10-32 to 1/2-20) for a family of studs we make for a sister company. It required changing one variable to start machining another part. Diameters were all controlled by 500 series macros. No longer had to go out and modify a program because of taper or because one diameter was on size while another was a few tenths off. Also saved me a ton of programming.