586,106 active members*
3,190 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > How did you learn CNC

How did you learn CNC

I was talking with a friend the other day who is starting to get in to CNC work and only found out about it as a career because of me. So I'm wondering how everyone else came in to it.
    I myself started CNC in high school there was a 2x2 Precix table stuffed in a corner not being used. I asked what it was and when I found out I could mix my two loves (computers and woodworking) I went all out. I spent about 8 months going to school on my sat. with my shop teacher to get the machine in working order. By the time I graduated there was a full cnc program in place and I go back about 2 times a month to tutor kids.
    So thats my story what about everyone else?
    I'm not lazy..., I'm efficient!
    HAAS GR-408

I learn CNC myself by experimenting with my DIY milling machine..So far I broke only two endmills in 1.5year period

I was trained on a $500,000 CNC router at Lexington Furniture Industries in Lexington NC. about 10-15 years ago. I've always been pretty mechanically inclined, and after watching that machine run every day I just knew I could build one. I built a 4 x 8 Gantry style machine in my basement mostly out of wood. I made a few smaller machines out of metal. The rest is history,,, LOL

I'm having fun, I love this stuff.
    Gary
    I've done so much with so little for so long,,,,
    Pretty soon I should be able to do anything with nothing.