586,110 active members*
3,162 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Stepper speed question

What is one to do if they don't know what speed they want to cut at...say for instance they are cutting wood today..and for several weeks then some guy comes over and says "hey can you trim my cast iron exhaust manifold it only needs to be resurfaced?" first you need slower rpm ,then you need slower feed rates,

while i am a machinist and have been for years its the whole "homebrew cnc" thing thats has me sorta stumped am i correct that assuming a router that can run 100 inches a minute,cant run smooth at 2 inches a minute?

sorry if this is off topic too much...
    "witty comment"

You design for the fastest speeds you plan on using. You can always slow down. Unless you have a very low resolution setup, movement while going slowly should still be smooth. Even with 2 turns per inch screws, if you use Geckos with 10 microsteps, you still have 4000 steps per inch. To move 2 inches per minute, the PC will send 8000 steps in 60 seconds, or 133 steps per second. So if the motor is moving 133 steps every second, it's going to be pretty smooth.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

thanks gerry for the reply...

this sorta leads into another question,as to using a low threads per inch leadscrews.i have been a "lurker" for a very long time,and have noticed a push for screws in the range of 10 threads per inch with 5 starts..which would be .500 inch per rev.