586,094 active members*
4,070 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: QUOTING help

QUOTING help

I am very new to this and have not been making parts anyone other than myself but i got a request to make some things for a friends business. I want to be fair but make a little money out of the deal also. Does anyone have a template for plasma cut pricing based on material type, thickness, and linear inch. Something that I can use to help me quote these parts for him. Any help is greatly appreciated.

44 people looked and no one replied

Since he is your "friend" and he is running a "business" why not just ask him what he is willing to pay for the work?

You have made parts before and should have a rough idea of what it will cost you to produce parts for him.

If he wants to give you $100 bucks he is not your friend!

Good luck!

P.S. last job I did for my friend when he asked how much he owed me for the simple job I gave it to him.
    It's all based on what you want, template is great if your running a business and deal with quotes all day long.

Look at what local shops are charging and cut it by 1/4. If your friend is going to make money on this too, then he'll make his mark-up money, and you make your money. I'm gonna guess simple plasma at 1/4" thick is around $75 an hour. Best thing to do since you're new at this is to get the files, do all the toolpaths and let the machine run 'dry.' That way, you know how long it will take (even though you did the work you just didn't cut material) and you know what the time will be. Sometimes you just gotta take the plunge. Most of the time you come out all right. Sometimes you'll loose but most of the time you come out just right.