586,035 active members*
3,797 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: total newbie

Smile total newbie

Hello everyone. This is my first Post.Thought I would introduce myself to you all. I am a 50 odd years young old fashion trained signwriter, yet I have worked with cnc flat bed Matcam routers for many years, as an employee of course. Operation of this equipment has always been graphically orientated through cadcam and I have been interested in what makes these things work the way they do. Up until this time I have had only a very basic understanding of steppers and servo motors. I logged onto the WWW for the first time at home only a couple of years ago. Since then I've been learning about electronics and how they work. I want to build myself a small hobby cnc router, but want to do it the hard way and not go buy controllers and boards. To me its all about the learning experience and the fun of it. I have built some driver boards using only descrete components for unipolar steppers and am building a few for bipolar stepper motors. Have had a few meltdowns with the transistors on the bipolar circuits though, until I realized they come with different pin arrangements for possibly ease of board making. The math knocks me around a little, but will continue anyhow. So far as step, direction decoding goes I've managed to sort through. I find the 1/0 logic ok. Need to sort out a descrete interface from pc to my steppers but won't be easy.Want to stick to the KISS principle with everything that I make even though "simple" seems often to lead to its own compexity. Have read a bit about Gcode and that there are many variations. I'll have lots of questions for you all. Hoping thats ok. Will try and post my primitive stuff here for all to have a chuckle about when I have something worth the view. Some may find my electronics amusing.

Hi