586,102 active members*
3,266 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

5th even 6th axis? how does it work

Quick question, how would a 5th axis work? I know about a 4th axis, rotary so you can do 360 machining, but is a 5th or 6th axis like rotary on a rotary axis?

Cheers,
    Tom,

usually, i'd say 90% of the time the 5th axis is on the z on a vertical axis machine, it can rotate +/- 60 deg. a 6th axis has a five axis machine with a multiple rotary head on the table. they would be considered a,b, and c axis.

ok so lets see if I understand....

5th axis would be the movement of the vertical head, so the spindle in relation to the x axis would move +-60o.

6th axis, rotary head on another rotary head?

Im thinking of starting a website to help other users out as I have had a hard time learning all this, Im a web developer by trade and I think cnczone is good but I think that a central resource would be nice to have for the beginner.

Cheers,
    Tom

Quote Originally Posted by ToMMY2ooo
    Quick question, how would a 5th axis work? I know about a 4th axis, rotary so you can do 360 machining, but is a 5th or 6th axis like rotary on a rotary axis?

Cheers,
    Tom,
    Usually a 5 axis machine has a rotary for the A and the B axis.
    The A axis coincides with the X axis, and the B axis coincides with the
    Y axis. This is referring to a vertical machine.
    Some machines are a trunnion type. The A Axis is a trunion or rotary along
    the X axis, and a second rotary table, the B axis is mounted on the trunion.
    This allows all five sides of a part to be accessed, and features, or
    holes drilled in at any angle.
    Some machines are similar, with an A axis Trunion, and the head swivels
    in the B axis. This will have simular but slightly different capabilities.

Some gantry type machines have a knuckle that can swivel in the
    A and B axis. In other words, the head swivels in two axis.

Swiss type lathes can have 11 axes or more. What do they do?