586,966 active members*
2,914 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Threaded View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3

    Handwheel accuracy

    Hi,
    We installed a handwheel and 2 rotary knobs to control a 3 axis milling machine (see picture). The first knob is used to determine the step of each click of the handwheel (1x, 10x, 100x) and the second one is used to determine wich one of the axis has to move (X,Y,Z,A). The only way I found to control the step of each click is by changing the ACCEL, DECEL and RAPIDSPEED parameters. Here's the code placed in ~@~INPUTIO.FIL for moving the X axis:

    IF #63=1 THENIF #64=1 THEN ACCEL 1;10 : DECEL 1;10 :RAPIDSPEED 1000: HANDWHEEL 1;4000;OK2STOP1 '1x

    IF #63=1 THENIF #65=1 THEN ACCEL 1;100 : DECEL 1;100 :RAPIDSPEED 5000: HANDWHEEL 1;400;OK2STOP1 '10x

    IF #63=1 THENIF #66=1 THEN ACCEL 1;1000 : DECEL 1;1000 :RAPIDSPEED 10000: HANDWHEEL 1;100;OK2STOP1 '100x

    IF #63=1 THENIF #67=1 THEN ACCEL 1;1000000 : DECEL 1;1000000 :RAPIDSPEED 120000 :HANDWHEEL 1;400;TACH 'Dyn


    And here is my jog button macro:
    Code placed in ~@~INPUTIO.FIL is:
    IF #34=1 THENIF #62=1 THEN [Jog Buttons X+]

    Code placed in ~@~MACRO.FIL is:
    [[Jog Buttons X+]]
    WAITUNTIL STOP
    HANDWHEEL 0
    IF#34=1 THEN FEEDRATE 180 :ACCEL 1;120000 : DECEL 1;120000: POSITION 1;9999: WAITUNTIL #34=0
    IF#34=0 THEN STOP 1:EXIT

    [[Jog Buttons X-]]
    WAITUNTIL STOP
    HANDWHEEL 0
    IF#35=1 THEN FEEDRATE 180 :ACCEL 1;120000 : DECEL 1;120000: POSITION 1;-9999: WAITUNTIL #35=0
    IF#35=0 THEN STOP 1:EXIT



    I have 3 major problems using these commands:

    1- Each click of handle doesn't move the machine of the same step (see graph). So how can I set the handwheel so one click moves the axis of exactly one increment (0.0001", 0.001" and 0.01") depending on the knob position?

    2- Each click through the negative direction moves the axis of about twice the distance it moves through the positive direction (see the graph). How can I set the handwheel so each click in any direction moves the axis of the same distance?

    3- Using the handwheel seems to desactivates the jog buttons. Any ideas where that could come from?


    Thanks a lot in advance!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_0612.jpg   Accuracy.JPG  

Similar Threads

  1. Tree Handwheel
    By dougwr in forum Tree
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-10-2008, 09:03 PM
  2. Heidenhain Hr-410 handwheel
    By khbash in forum CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-04-2007, 12:42 PM
  3. tm-1 handwheel removal?
    By superrat in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-10-2006, 04:52 PM
  4. Accuracy determination & accuracy improvement
    By rweatherly in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-11-2005, 02:37 PM
  5. Handwheel Installation
    By plateroomred in forum CamSoft Products
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-24-2005, 10:28 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •