586,112 active members*
3,250 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Retrofit Tree 320 with Fagor?

Hello, all. I have a Tree Journeyman 320. It's so solid and in such good shape, I think it worthy of a retrofit.

I have been looking at Fagor 8055 package. This seems like a great package. I would appreciate feedback from anyone using the control in the field.

Are there other controls I should take a look at for comparison? I say packages because I am a good mechanic, but I am not a computer whiz.

The machine is a vertical mill, servos on all three axes, no tool changer, no programmable spindle speed.

Thanks, Tom

I recently looked at a mill retrofit and compared the Fagor with a Siemens 802.The Siemens was $2000 cheaper and seemed to include more for the money.
    Mark.

What I like about the Fagor is that I can load a DXF file into it and develop my program right there at the control. I looked at the Siemens site, but it wasn't very helpful. I may need to contact a sales rep. for my application.

The Siemens site is a bit of a disaster to navigate.I never seem to get around it the same way twice.You can download the 802D manuals from here.
    http://support.automation.siemens.co...subtype=133300

Mark.

Hi I´m Chrale sfrom argentine and I´m a Fagor Oem. If you have to compare by prices a Siemens 802D or 802SL you have to look a Fagor 8035. The 8055 it´s a supirior control that have a conversacional move and a lot of options than the Siemens 802. If you need Fagor information please contact me.

Best regards

Carlos

The Siemens comes with a plc programme which you can edit.The Fagor comes without the PLC programme and no help from Fagor.