586,072 active members*
4,681 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Other Machines > CNC Wire Foam Cutter Machines > Needs Help... building CNC foam Cutting Machine

Needs Help... building CNC foam Cutting Machine

Hi,

I am a newbie, I am in the process of building a CNC foam cutting machine based on the www.8linx.com design, However I got stuck where it came to build a circuit which controls the stepper motors.

I have seen lot of 2 axis drivers (Kits) which can only accept 2 motors, However I need to attach 4 motor, 2 for each axis.

I dont have much electronincs knowledge as I am from IT background(Software Developer) hence anyone who can guide me on what sholud I do to build such a circuit.

javagreen,

You'll need a 4 axis controller board. One of the most popular on the foam cutting machines here in the US is the HOBBYCNC Foam PRO driver board. Look here for more info... http://www.hobbycnc.com/products/foa...ver-board-kit/

Senna

Quote Originally Posted by javagreen View Post
    Hi,

I am a newbie, I am in the process of building a CNC foam cutting machine based on the www.8linx.com design, However I got stuck where it came to build a circuit which controls the stepper motors.

I have seen lot of 2 axis drivers (Kits) which can only accept 2 motors, However I need to attach 4 motor, 2 for each axis.

I dont have much electronincs knowledge as I am from IT background(Software Developer) hence anyone who can guide me on what sholud I do to build such a circuit.
    Look at here
    http://www.kelinginc.net/ControlSystem.html for our package

hi,

Thanks for your reply, However I am from India and these people dosnt ship to India.

I there any way to build the circuit/drivers at home???

Phil aka PMINMO has a site that will lead you to several good ideas. Search fos a post of his and then check his profile - should get you there too.
    Welcome to the CNCZONE!
    :cheers: Jim