586,089 active members*
3,874 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Flatbed cutting plotter for packaging

Hi all,

I have been following many builds on this forum for the past year and never came across the machine I want to build.

I want to build a basic x y axis table and need to build a head with 2 tools. I need to cut and crease or cut and kiss cut cardboard for packaging sample. so the head must have 2 tools. I have seen machines with pneumatic heads.

Any ideas or references on how to build the head and a controler for the head.

Thanks

I'm no expert on cutting and creasing packaging materials but I do know that the dies for doing these operations are very simple and cost less than than €200/$160 to get made so why would you bother? Only advantage I can see is that a digitally controlled machine could do it there and then. If you are determined to continue along this route then I would suggest a gantry type machine with two independant heads, probably in line with each other, forward and behind of the gantry. Check out Ger21's two headed machine he's building or has built. I'd imagine the creaser would use a pizza cutter style wheel but due to its size it would probably have to be controlled in the rotary axis (Zeta?) which then drives cost up substantially. I couldn't imagine a trailing wheel (same principal as trailing blade vinyl cutter) working properly due to its size. The cutting head is another problem also because the material being cut is double wall corrugated cardboard in varying thicknesses which probably precludes trailing knife blade mechanism. Maybe a machine with just one head (rotary axis controlled, pizza cutter style wheel) could be used and just vary the downward pressure to differentiate between cutting and creasing. The negative of this is to cut an internal corner. The stop point for the vertical axis of the wheel when stopping at the correct point in a corner is not the same point as the corner itself and therefore needs software