586,103 active members*
3,339 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Uncategorised CAM Discussion > Solidworks > ??? > Mach 3 > Tormach PCNC 1100

Solidworks > ??? > Mach 3 > Tormach PCNC 1100

Hi All,

I'm a high school teacher in Hanover, MA. Right now my co-teacher and I are looking for some advice because we are getting hung up in getting our new Tormach PCNC 1100 up and running completely. Basically, there are so many options in CAM software, we don't know where to start or what exactly to be looking for.

A little bit about our program: We are an academic high school that has a progressive (for education) engineering program. We have a design lab that uses Solidworks, and this summer we were fortunate enough to get a Tormach PCNC mill, with the rotary 4th axis.

We plan on using it for making robots, molds/casts (just for instructional purposes), electronics projects, promotional items/engravings, and whatever comes up. The 4th axis is key as we don't have a very good lathe in the school.

Right now we are trying to figure out what CAM software should be the missing link in our system. We have and know Solidworks well, and the Tormach came with Mach3 controller software. Other than that, we are not sure what direction to take.

Our assumption is that the Mach 3 software is the only software that should be used to control the mill, is that correct? And, if we choose the proper CAM software, we can avoid having to use a post processor, correct?

If anyone has any recommendations for our setup, or any advice at all, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Kurt

have you found any CAM software yet? I am looking into doing the same thing.. although I have Solidworks 2008 and GibbsCAM 2007 which works great IF you have a post for your CNC controller. I can't find any CAM software that will post to a Mach3 software controller..

Try dolphin cad cam. I use mach 3 myself and the post processors are built directly in.